Royal Holloway University

Royal Holloway, University of London (RHUL), formally incorporated as Royal Holloway and Bedford New College, is a public research university and a constituent college of the federal University of London. It has six schools, 21 academic departments, and approximately 10,500 undergraduate and postgraduate students from over 100 countries. The campus is located west of Egham, Surrey, 19 miles (31 km) from central London.

The Egham campus was founded in 1879 by the Victorian entrepreneur and philanthropist Thomas Holloway. Royal Holloway College was officially opened in 1886 by Queen Victoria as an all-women college. It became a member of the University of London in 1900. In 1945, the college admitted male postgraduate students, and in 1965, around 100 of the first male undergraduates. In 1985, Royal Holloway merged with Bedford College (another former all-women’s college in London). The merged college was named Royal Holloway and Bedford New College (RHBNC), this remaining the official registered name of the college by Act of Parliament. The campus is dominated by the Founder’s Building, a Grade I listed red-brick building modeled on the Château de Chambord of the Loire Valley, France. There are strong links and exchange programmes with institutions in the United States, Canada, Australia, and Hong Kong, notably Yale University, the University of Toronto, the University of Melbourne, and the University of Hong Kong. Royal Holloway was a member of the 1994 Group until 2013 when the group dissolved.

Why Royal Holloway?

  • Research excellence underpins a personalized education
  • World-class facilities
  • Our range of facilities includes the spectacular Founder’s Building, a modern lecture theatre complex called the Windsor Building, the Students’ Union, academic spaces, and halls of residence as well as all the amenities you expect from a top-class university. We also have a new Library and Student Services Centre

Royal Holloway Accreditation:

Our teaching has been accredited by several professional bodies.

  • All single-honors degrees are accredited by the British Computer Society(BCS).
  • All single-honors degrees are accredited by the European Quality Assurance Network for Informatics Education(EQANIE).
  • The BSc/MSci in Computer Science (Information Security) has been given provisional certification by GCHQ; only two integrated masters and two bachelors are certified.
  • The BCS also identified our teaching of Software Engineering as an area of Best Practice.

Rankings of Royal Holloway:

National: 19

World QS: 308